शरीर को स्वस्थ रखने के लिए हमें लम्बी एवं गहरी श्वास की आदत डालनी चाहिए। इसके लिये हमारे गुरू जी ब्रह्यलीन आचार्य शेषाद्रि स्वामिनाथन् जी द्वारा बताए गए अहिंसक प्राणायाम को प्रतिदिन सुबह सायं दस-बारह बार करते रहें, जिससे हमारे फेफड़ों को दिन भर लम्बी श्वास लेने की आदत अपने आप पड़ जाएगी। यह प्राणायाम अहिंसक है, इसको हर तरह के रोगी कर सकते हैं।

प्राणायाम की पाँच अवस्थाएँ

  • रेचक (एक नथुने को बन्द करके दूसरे नथुने से श्वास द्वारा वायु को बाहर निकालने की) क्रिया।
  • बाह्य कुम्भक (दोनों नासिकाओं को बन्द करके श्वास को बाहर रोकने की क्रिया)।
  • पूरक (जिस नथुने से रेचक किया गया, उसके विपरीत नथुने से श्वास को अन्दर ले जाने क्री किया)।
  • आन्तरिक कुम्भक (दोनों नासिकाओं को बन्द करके श्वास को अन्दर रोकने की क्रिया)





  • रेचक क्रिया-प्राणायाम करते समय सीधे बैठकर मन को शान्त रखते हुए रेचक क्रिया से शुरू करना चाहिए। अपने दायें हाथ के अंगूठें के साथ वाली दो अँगुलियों को बन्द कर लें। दायीं नासिका को बन्द करने के लिए दायें अंगूठे का प्रयोग और बायीं नासिका को बन्द करने के लिए दो अँगुलियों का प्रयोग दिए गए क्रमानुसार करें। सबसे पहले एक नासिका को बन्द करके दूसरी नासिका द्वारा आराम से यथाशक्ति बिना जोर लगाये श्वास को बाहर निकालें।
  • रेचक क्रिया के बाद ‘बाह्य कुम्भक’ करना है। इस समय दोनों नासिकाओं को बन्द करके श्वास को अपनी शक्ति अनुसार बाहर ही रोक दें।
  • फिर ‘पूरक क्रिया’ करनी है। जिस नािसका से रेचक क्रिया पहले की गयी थी उसको बन्द रखें और दूसरी नासिका द्वारा आराम से श्वास को जितना हो सकें अन्दर ले जाएं। फेफड़ों को यथा शक्ति फुलाने का प्रयत्न करें।
  • फिर ‘आन्तरिक कुम्भक’ करें। दोनों नासिकाओं को बन्द करके जितना आराम से हो सके उतनी देर तक श्वास को अन्दर रोकें। यह भी अपनी शक्ति से अधिक न हो।
  • तत्पश्चात् फिर से रेचक करें। यह सब अहिसंक ढंग से करें।

इन क्रियाओं को अपनी-अपनी क्षमता के अनुसार ही करें। क्योंकि सभी लोगों की क्षमता (Capacity) एक जैसी नहीं होती। जबरदस्ती करने से फेफड़ों पर जोर पड़ता है, जिससे धीरे-धीरे कमजोर फेफड़ों के और अधिक कमजोर होने की सम्भावना होती है। इसलिए किसी दूसरे की नकल न करें। जिन लोगों को रक्तचाप या हृदय रोग है वे लोग सांस को रोकते समय कम समय लगाएं। अर्थात बाह्य कुम्भक व आंतरिक कुम्भक में कम समय लगायें। स्वस्थ व्यक्ति अपनी-अपनी क्षमतानुसर करेंगें।


Every activity inside the organism can take place ideally, or in a near ideal condition, only when each cell in the body is able to get the requisite oxygen all the time. If, in any case, there is less supply of oxygen or, worse still, if the air breathed in is polluted, the activities inside the body will become seriously upset.

While practically everybody knows the above facts, very little attention is paid by most of the people to keep their breathing process in good form. If all men were to live ideally in tune with the Laws of Nature, there may be practically no need to teach them the art of pranayama or rhythmic breathing. As is widely known this matter continues to be neglected and hence it is that Natural Hygienists are required to project this subject in the proper light.

Pranayam consists of 4 phases

  • Rechaka ( exhalation )
  • Relaxation (Baahya Kumbhaka)
  • Pooraka (Breathing in)
  • Kumbhaka

Stage 1- Breathing out ( Rechaka)

Either in the sitting posture or standing posture or lying posture, let the person concerned gently press upon the right nostril effectively closing it and keeping the other nostril open. Through that open nostril let the person breathe out the residual air from within the lungs slowly and gently without causing any exertion on the respiratory system. Let the breathing out be as long as it is practicable by the individual, again without any strain. This process of eliminating the Carbon-di-oxide is called Rechaka in practically all the Indian languages.

Stage 2- External Retention (Bahya Kumbhaka)

The carbon di-oxide from within has been eliminated to the extent possible and the lungs are, to that extent, empty and clean. Remembering the fact that the lungs have to work all the twenty-four hours of the day without any (apparent) rest, it would be ideal not to breathe in immediately after rachaka but to close both the nostrils and retain the air externally as Fig. This is to be done according to each one’s capacity without straining.

Stage 3- Inhaling (Pooraka)

In stage 1, the lungs have been cleared of Carbon-di-oxide and in stage 2 rest (may be for a second, two or three according to the capacity of the individual concerned) has been given. Now comes stage 3. The lungs are empty and ready to receive fresh air, the guest, with all respect. Let the health-seeker open the nostril, which he had kept closed in stage 1 and breathe in slowly and gently to the extent practicable fig. While doing this process, let the person ensure that his lungs are expanding to the extent practicable and not allow the abdomen ‘to bloat up’.

Stage 4- Internal retention (Antarika Kumbhaka)

Clean air has been breathed in and kept within the lungs for a second, two or three according to one’s capacity to allow the exchange of gases to take place Fig. The oxygen, which has reached the air cells in the lungs, is passed on to the blood stream and the dirty air in the blood steam is taken back by the air cells during this period. After doing the above internal retention breathe out the air as indicated in stage 1, slowly and gently.

This completes one round of pranayama. After this allow the normal breathing to take place for five seconds or so.

Benefits of Pranayama

  • Improves The Digestion
  • Improves Assimilation
  • Improves Brain Health
  • Improves General Health Level
  • Blood Cleanser
  • Lengthens the Life Span

Reach Us

Contact No. 9870291634, 9870291635
Email :
Copyright © 2020, All Rights Reserved. Natural Life Style